I know they’re out there

I got the email around three yesterday. My fishing buddies were planing a quick trip to our home waters, but I knew I couldn’t go.

Let me give a little bit of background information. About nine months ago my wife and I had our first baby girl. She’s healthy and happy and I’m a very lucky and proud Pa. My life changed in all the predictable ways. I get less sleep. I’m obsessed with Maurice Sendak–but it was my time spent angling that changed the most. I went from fishing around four times a week to fishing, maybe, once a week. I miss it. I wouldn’t trade it for what I have now, but I do miss it.

So as I played with my daughter I thought about what was out there: my buddies flinging flies back and forth, mayflies hovering with their haloed wings, and clumsily caddisflies stumbling across the surface of water. Oh–and the fish. I knew they’re out there too.

But I watched my daughter toss her head from side to side. I handed her a stuffed puppy which she accepted with her mouth in a perfect “O” shape.

Every Day in May

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “I know they’re out there

  1. agitatedangler says:

    Sandra Boynton is also has some good stuff. No night kitchens or Max in his wolf suit but good… 😉

  2. I’ll check her out. Kids lit is either really good or really not good. And, unlike adult lit, I can’t always put my finger on why something is good and why it’s bad.

  3. […] I am taking it as current life. My new Cyber friend @ howsmallatrout.wordpress.com wrote today on Home Waters, but sort of I read it as how life changes or evolves in different […]

  4. […] I am taking it as current life. My new Cyber friend @ howsmallatrout.wordpress.com wrote yesterday about Home Waters, but sort of I read it as how life changes or evolves in different […]

  5. Benjamin says:

    I love this, man!! I truly understand with a little one that just turned 3 on Tuesday! Now I get to put a rod in her hand and teach her my love of nature!

Leave a Reply

