They Certainly Don’t Care About Fishing

My office is exactly seven minutes downstream from one of my favorite fishing spots. I check the weather on my work computer and try to figure out why today would be a good fishing day–even if I’m not fishing anytime soon. Warm equals hatches. Cold equals people staying home. Windy equals nymphing. And rain. Rain is my favorite.

Once a stray mayfly bumped into my window as I graded student essays.  I tell my students to just write about something they love–about something they can’t not write about.  But they won’t.  I tell them that I’ll read essays about video games, about music, about old MASH episodes, about pocket lint or My-Little-Pony collections. I ask them what they look up on the internet when they have five minutes (and, sometimes, I regret that).  Maybe they just don’t care about anything, and maybe that’s the problem. After work, I go home and eat dinner with my wife, and put my daughter, Hennie, to bed.  Then I pull out my fly bench and try to reconstruct that mayfly.

Every Day in May

Tagged , ,

7 thoughts on “They Certainly Don’t Care About Fishing

  1. paracaddis says:

    Ah well, Passion, such an underrated thing. Perhaps lack of success in getting students to write has driven this “Every Day In May” idea, that the rest of us should write instead, at least you don’t need to grade the results and can get out there and test that new mayfly pattern. 🙂

  2. agitatedangler says:

    The children now love luxury; they have bad manners, contempt for authority; they show disrespect for elders and love chatter in place of exercise. Children are now tyrants, not the servants of their households. They no longer rise when elders enter the room. They contradict their parents, chatter before company, gobble up dainties at the table, cross their legs, and tyrannize their teachers. – SOCRATES

  3. 7 minutes away?!? I don’t know if I should be jealous. I have a spot- not a favorite, but a spot 15 minutes from the office. It sure does beat not fishing at lunch.

  4. g0ne fishin9 says:

    I’ve had exactly the same problem with my students here in France. I don’t understand it as a tendency, it’s not about now vs. before, I’d rather see it as a sign that intensity is a relatively uncommon phenomenon, and when it occurs, you will not necessarily be at ease to talk about it.

Leave a Reply

